I started my day today with a wonderful thought – the realization of how symmetry is built into everything around us. If you observe closely you will find that it is present in even the simplest of things in the universe. Think about it and look around. Whatever you see is designed to work only in pairs. A coin has two sides, basics of programming rests in binary code, a mother isn’t called one till her baby is born and evil is defined so only because good exists. As they say, without the past there would be no future. I can go on and on. There are countless examples of how one event, a thought, an individual or that moment complements and completes the other. You have to give credit to Mr. God for being so thoughtful.

I don’t know whether my Chinese seniors had the same thought when they devised the theory of Ying and Yang. That cute little black-and-white logo represents shadow and light – seemingly opposite or contrary forces – but interconnected and interdependent in the natural world. On a broader level it explains how complementary (or is it supplementary?) forces give rise to each other as they inter-relate to one other.

Indians (being in direct competition to Chinese since ages) did not feel like giving up so easily. So they too brought about a concept. That of ‘ardhangani‘ or ‘The Better Half’ as we know it now. For want of avoiding unnecessary controversies, I shall not go into whether wife theoretically (or practically) completes the Man.

But to take this discussion on a more universal platter, lets take our bodies for example. I always think of the human body as the best representation of perfectness in this world. I’m sure God is a brilliant architect, doctor and engineer rolled in one. The way he has created human body is par excellence. The most advanced machines today use The Body as a benchmark for their blueprint.

So just pause for a moment and think – can you imagine your face with just one ear? True, you may be able to hear sounds if you make an effort but your face would just not look complete. Same goes for your eyes, nostrils, lips or eyebrows. Mind you, the pairing does not stop at being cosmetic alone. Do you think you could see the vibrancy of this world without both eyes? Or be able to do ‘anulom-vilom‘ without both the nostrils? Its not just creepy but probably impractical too. This just confirms my hypothesis about God’s perfect plan and why he gave us two hands, arms, legs and basically all the necessary organs in a pair.

But then I’m also forced to think about the liver, brain, heart, or ‘The Most Important Tool’. They are indeed loners. It would be interesting to hear from them whether they are truly happy with their loneliness or probably they’re so busy doing their job that lack of companionship does not bother them. Another contrary theory is about their role. Maybe their function is so unique that having a second one would have spoiled the show? Caused some kind of imbalance?

(My money is on their importance in the whole scheme of things, especially considering The Organ)

So what is it really? Just another trick of the universe, a conditioning of our brain that we are ‘programmed’ to appreciate things only in pairs? Or, as my imagination permits right now, some smart and strong ones (like the Brain for example) actually put it’s foot down and demanded their uniqueness?

I do not know the correct answer. But what I know is that since time immemorial men are known to be on the hunt for a partner to mate with. We may glorify this activity over the years and call it friendship. dating, courtship or marriage. But it all boils down to companionship. Of course there are platonic relationships. But how many of these actually end up how they started out as? There is something in the moral fabric of human beings that they simply cannot live alone. Almost everyone that I have come across in my life has this urge of being with someone. As if staying single or alone is a curse? 

But then like there are exceptions to every rule, I also happen to know people who love themselves. So much so that they are alone by choice.

And that brings me to the crux of this discussion – Yours Truly. Coincidentally, my best friend, my Devil’s Advocate, my biggest, best (and worst) critic happens to be ME i.e. My Alter Ego. If you too have lived alone for a long time you will identify and empathize with me here. My theory is straight forward yet complex. Being a Cancerian, I feel I was destined to have moments of exclusivity (which this world calls aloofness). I don’t know how much of it is attributable to my creativity or the writer-poet in me. But I do know that my detachment from this World is therapeutic. Especially when I was away in another country and there was no familiar home atmosphere or my creature comforts to lap me up. In such a world, I was most comfortable with my ‘own better half’. Yes, he was like that ‘Imaginary Friend’ that many young, multiple-personality-disorder kids have. But who’s complaining? At least I got a lot of good company, advice and honest critique from him. And the best part is he is always available!

I laugh at people who call me a loner. They just don’t know what awesome company I have.